It looks great, but, um, what it is?

My guild went and tried out the new and improved Ony fight. I didn’t like it much, long and boring fight, but thats neither here nor there. I want to talk about what I found on Ony’s body.

blade stats

What on earth?

…Lets take a closer look at this.

Ok, so my current weapons are:

Stoneguard
One-Hand Sword
182 – 340 Damage Speed 1.60
(163.1 damage per second)
+35 Strength
+69 Stamina
Durability 105 / 105
Requires Level 80
Item Level 219
Equip: Increases your dodge rating by 31 (0.79% @ L80).
Equip: Increases your parry rating by 30 (0.61% @ L80).
Equip: Improves hit rating by 24 (0.73% @ L80).

My prefered tanking weapon because I haven’t been lucky enough to get better one…besides, my RPer within has decided that my pally prefers swords and you can’t argue with the RPer within. It’s not a great tanking weapon and it could use some defense, but for the content I do, it’s more than sufficiant.

Westfall Saber
One-Hand Sword
187 – 349 Damage Speed 1.50
(178.7 damage per second)
+52 Agility
+45 Stamina
Durability 105 / 105
Requires Level 80
Item Level 232
Equip: Improves critical strike rating by 29 (0.63% @ L80).
Equip: Increases attack power by 74.
Equip: Increases your armor penetration rating by 38 (3.09% @ L80).

My soloing/heroics weapon. According to Rawr, it only generates slightly more threat than Stoneguard (and actually, that might have changed in 3.2.2! I haven’t sat down and played with numbers yet), but I needed a reason to justify rolling on it and winning.

Broken Promise
One-Hand Sword
274 – 509 Damage Speed 2.50
(156.6 damage per second)
+29 Strength
+64 Stamina
Durability 105 / 105
Requires Level 80
Item Level 213
Equip: Increases defense rating by 43 (8.74 @ L80).
Equip: Improves hit rating by 16 (0.49% @ L80).
Equip: Increases your expertise rating by 20 (2.44 @ L80).

I remember fighting tooth and nail for that. Our short raids didn’t allow for many Kel’Thuzad encounters so I didn’t stand a chance in winning Last Laugh and I was never lucky with Red Sword of Courage drops. I usually don’t get territorial about loot, but I did threatened the other tanks that they’d have to run UP with me every day if they won against me… Ah, those were the days! I miss the defense and the stamina is decent, but I was happy to replace it with Stoneguard. I don’t use Broken Promise anymore, but I keep it in my bank as a souvenir.

Now back to Burnished Quel’Serrar. What do we have?

+74 Stamina
More stamina than on my other weapons. Not a huge upgrade, but still good.

275-511 Dmg, (196.5 damage per second), Speed 2.00
As far as I understand, speed isn’t really to be taken into consideration when choosing weapon since both slow and fast weapon have their own, subtle, advantages. Very high dps, higher than my dps weapon even, is nice. Perhaps it will make up for the lack of strength.

Chance on hit: When active, grants the wielder 110 defense rating and 1550 armor for 10 sec.
I equiped this as soon as I got it. From my stats, it looks like the uptime is about 70%. 70% is good, but 70% is not 100%. (I know, statistics and percentages are HARD!) So this is great mitigation and avoidance, but not all the time, so you can’t rely on the crazy defense to be uncritable. 10 seconds is a nice duration nonetheless, perfect to give the healers a breather if they need it. EDIT: Others report a proc uptime from 45% to 55%. I still get 70% on fights where I’m standing still, smacking the boss and more 50-60% on fights where I have to move a lot.

No strength, no hit, no constant defense or any other constant avoidance
I’m a bit on the fence on that one. On one hand, the proc is super nice, like a trinket. However, I’ll have to make up for the loss of hit, strength and defense elsewhere.

Conclusion? blade

So far, I really like this weapon. I’ll need to play around with my sets to see if it’s optimal for me, but as long as I have the defense and hit worked out elsewhere, I think it’ll be great. I’ll give it some more tries tonight and compare it with Stoneguard, just to see how it’ll go in practice. I’m toying with enchanting it with Accuracy since my hit has gone down considerably since outgrowing t8, but we’ll see.

And if its awful, well, at least it looks cool.

Explore posts in the same categories: Teh paladin

Tags: , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,969 other followers

