I…I don’t get the joke…

So there’s this thing people do in the game that they find really funny. Maybe I’m an old lady who yells at kids on her lawn, maybe I have no sense of humor, maybe I’m a freak but I don’t get it.

Here’s how it went. Since transferring to a new server, I’ve forced myself to get over my hangups about pugging. Being the new recruit to a guild that’s more advanced than me, the only way I’m going to get better without annoying everyone is by pugging the daily heroic and any 10 man ToCs/Onys I can find. The server has a lot of good guilds and pugging seems to be less of a big deal than it was a Moonrunner. However, being brand new to the server, I can’t rely on knowing other guilds’ reputations to choose who I’ll pug with. I hop into LFG and pray.

After desperately trying to find a ToC 10 group for an hour, I finally see the magic words: LF healer ToC 10, need priest or pally. Awesome! I whisper my stats and I’m in. Then we die. I look at my tank. Not much other than Naxx gear, but no one else knows this. He’s going to die every time I have to move and I’m going to be blamed. Crap. Someone claims they’d never seen the fight before. Oh boy. I have 2 hours and all I need are 6 badges, surely we can get Northrend Beasts and Jaraxxus down eventually. We die a few more times, but it seems we can do it. I stick around.

They’re joking around on vent, they all seem to know each other very well. Obviously they’re playing their alts, just relaxing a bit in the evening. All I need are badges, I have 2 hours, I can do this. Northrend Beasts go down. We cheer. I force myself out of my “just want to get this instance over with” and begin to enjoy the company of my pug. Jaraxxus goes down. Onto Faction Champs. They explain it for 15 minutes. I don’t bother renewing my flask, I alt tab out and read some blogs. We easily one shot Faction Champs. They’re amazed. I tell them about dispelling being the key to healing the fight. They gasp at my 113 dispells. I secrectly thank my new guild and Maintankadin for teaching me this a few days ago. Twins go down (no not like that, stop it people). Onto Anub.

I’ve alt tabbed out at this point. I come back to see myself dead. Right. I’ve heard of pugs doing this and someone tried it in my old guild once (he’s probably still wishing he hadn’t), but I didn’t expect people to actually still do that. Apparently it’s REALLY funny to put waterwalk/path of frost/other on people when the floor breaks. This group obviously think it’s HILARIOUS that about 4 of us died to path of frost. Right when I thought I was starting to like this group of people, they’re laughing so hard they can barely speak.

And I’m trying to figure out where the amusement is.

Then one of the guys in the group, another pug person, not from the guild running the pug, talks about how he used to Water Walk people on Lurker so they’d get hit by the spout. They find that really funny too.

I don’t get it.

I’m all for killing the occasional warlock. But wasting everyone’s time, risking a wipe (in the Lurker story) and giving people 10g repair bills for no good reason? I really can’t find the funny in that. Ok, maybe the first time someone thought to put up path of frost when falling down to Anub, it was sort of funny. But after ToC has been around for months and you currently have impatient guests in your group? Riiiiiiight.

I bit my tongue, made them rez me and won a new mace when we downed Anub. I thanked them for the group and even added the better players to my friends list.

But I still don’t see what’s funny about killing people with path of frost. Have I lost my humanity?

Explore posts in the same categories: General WoW

Tags: , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on “I…I don’t get the joke…”

  1. Jaedia Says:

    Ugh that’s actually one of my bigger pet peeves. It’s more a form of bullying, to you know overexaggerate a bit, than humour. Because the people who die from it do get pissed off, have to spend the money on the repairs, and do feel a little singled out. I will never understand or like it, and I like to treat everybody in PUGs as an idiot for reasons like that. On Icehowl, I watch very closely where the boss is going, head over to him asap and keep one finger over Tranq, have saved a few deaths from doing that too.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Yeah, that’s a wise idea. I’ve been spoiled by having a tight knit group of friends to run stuff with me for so long that I’m terribly naive when I do pug. I’ll be more wary next time.

      When they did the path of frost trick, I have to say I was more flabbergasted than anything else. All I could think of was why? As if my palm hadn’t hit my face enough already. I couldn’t even bring myself to be mad. I was just, are you twelve?

      But other than that, they seemed like nice, friendly people. Ah well, maybe social skills aren’t a given to everyone.

  2. Erinys Says:

    I’ve never got it either. Despite playing a shaman in SSC and hating on our rogues, I’ve never deliberately killed them.
    Although on Anub’arak we manage to lose someone every time the floor collapses, water not loading in, people being afk and managing to drown.. so we really don’t need our deathknights being idiots. So when we got a deathknight trial who felt it was a hilarious use of path of frost…
    Killing the GM, two of the officers and a couple of the more emo healers for a “laugh”, really doesn’t impress people on your first ever raid with them. Surprisingly enough, he is no longer with us. I however still levitate slowly down, just in case.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Having a trial DK doing it is actually quite funny, but not in the right way! And I was worried about making a bad impression to my new guild. Hahaha.

  3. Pugnacious Priest Says:

    It isn’t funny.. and explains why so many groups have issues with Anub.. they die before they even look at the boss. If I look to be in a group of silly people I will levitate when I get close to the surface just in case.

  4. Grognik Says:

    In my old guild it was a game to relieve the tension of raiding..it was a race between the healers to get levitate up and to see if the DK’s would actually pop in eaarly or late..of course the DK’s would always pay the repairs of those who did die due to the fall.

    Being the main tank probably let me get away with it more than a new recruit would have though :P

    • Ophelie Says:

      I guess that’s another way of looking at it. If everyone knows about it and it becomes a game to save everyone before they hit the water, it could be a lot fun.

      Having to use levitate is so annoying though. It takes foreeeeeeeever to fall.


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,932 other followers

