Blizzcawwwwwwwn!

Well, I’m leaving for Blizzcon in about 4 hours. Over 12 hours of travel, 5 time zones… The Aussies and the Brits will mock me for being a lightweight.

It’s funny how I’ve been daydreaming about this week for so long that now that it’s almost time, it doesn’t feel real. It’s become a figment of my imagination, it’s not supposed to actually happen. But sure enough, I’m ready to take a quick nap then make my way to the airport.

I gave myself a challenge: I decided to travel carry-on only. I had to pull some tricks, but I manage to fit 2 pairs of shoes, a pair of jeans, 5 shirts, 2 dresses, all my socks and underwear, my makeup, my washing stuff (my hair refuses to tolerate hotel shampoo), my hair straightener and study material for 2 classes in a tiny carry-on bag. I have no idea how I’ll manage to fit it all back in for the trip home.

Of blog stuff, I’m not bringing my laptop with me. I didn’t find the time to update our spell coefficients, but Brangwen of Non-Elitist Raiding Diary offered to take on the challenge. I’ll do some experiments next week when I get back.

I also forgot to do the writeup for last week’s Shared Topic post at Twisted Nether. Oops. Looks like it’ll be a double writeup next week.

As for my schedule, in case any of you would be interested in having a drink and/or smoothie with me, my schedule is something like this:

Thursday:
Day- Arrive at LAX, meet up and hang out with guildies.
Supper- Probably go somewhere with guildies (and OMG I can’t WAIT to eat decent food again! I miss fresh vegetables!)
Evening- WoW Insider Meetup at the Annabella (I’ll probably be there early and leave when it gets too crowded. Crowds and me do NOT mix!)

Friday:
Day- Since I didn’t get my midterm schedule until after the tickets went on sale, I didn’t bother buying a ticket. So I’m just going to hang around the city and play tourist.
Evening- Twisted Nether and Raid Warning meetups. Will probably go to the TNB meetup at Bubbagumps first, then meet up with my guildies at the Raid Warning’s once I’ve said hi/shaked hands/handed out hugs to everyone.

Saturday:
Day- Either hanging out with a guildie or two, or just playing tourist again.
Evening- Probably going to the Con After-Party for some time, then try to convince some of my guildies to go clubbing. I BOUGHT CLUB CLOTHES JUST FOR BLIZZCON.

Sunday:

Day- There was talk of a beach day among guildies, but it’ll depend on the weather…
Evening- Flying home and back to reality :(

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on “Blizzcawwwwwwwn!”

  1. bleuchz Says:

    I owe you a drink for never saying bye! :S if u see me say hello! If not have fun :)

    • Ophelie Says:

      You were there?

      I have no idea what you look like, so I wouldn’t have recognized you :( Which meetups did you go to?

      • bleuchz Says:

        Was wearing a big ‘Bleu’ on my shirt :P. I went with people who thought they were too cool for nerdy meet ups :(. Next year I’m renting a car so I can go anywhere without relying on local guildies. Glad to see you got a pass!

  2. Dreaming Says:

    Enjoy your Blizzcon, have a lot of fun :)

  3. Brangwen Says:

    Here ’tis!

    They REALLY chacked holy shock around, and nerfs across the board – except holy light, which no one cares about anyway.

    http://nonelitistraiding.blogspot.com/2010/10/holy-pally-co-efficients-4001987.html

    • Ophelie Says:

      Awesome! I looked at it quickly, but in my Blizzcon-burned state, the numbers started dancing all over the page. I’ll have another look once I get some rest!

  4. SmashNHeal Says:

    Your title made me LOL. My imagination is quite vivid, imagining you waking up, sitting up in bed, and screaming “Blizzcawwwwn!” this morning. Anyway, hope it is all that people say it is. Wondering how such a shy person gets into a social activity like clubbing. Perhaps you’ll find a way to work that into one of your WoW posts.

    • Ophelie Says:

      6 years of hip hop and bellydancing training makes clubbing more bearable :)

      I’m really not big on clubbing (too much noise and too much skankyness), but I love to dance, so when I’m in the right mood and with the right people, I enjoy getting my groove on.

  5. Dallanna Says:

    The title had me thinking of Star Trek 2: The Wrath of Khan, when Shatner, in his usual overracting-ness, yells “KHAN!”

    And yet, I go to your blog and find no mention of Shatner.

    Son, I am disappoint.

  6. Saif Says:

    Hope you’re having fun out there!

  7. Rhidach Says:

    Hey Ophelie, it was great to meet you at the TNB meetup! However, reading this post now I recall the embarrassment of when I said “I’ll probably see you around tomorrow at the convention” and you (class act that you are!) didn’t call me out for being behind in reading your blog, haha.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Ah! No worries! It didn’t even cross my mind! I even did make it to the convention on Saturday after all since one of my guildies had to leave.

      I was really excited about meeting you! I hope I didn’t get too fangirly… I’d been looking forward to meeting you and Anafielle from the moment I saw your names on the TNB meetup attendees list, so I was super giddy!


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,932 other followers

