Greetings from Milwaukee!

Rumours of my abduction by scary Americans have been greatly exaggerated. Oestrus has been treating me quite well and she’s not scary at all.

We made cupcakes!

I *finally* got around to answering all the comments I received. I’m behind on a couple of emails, but I’m hoping to get those done today, before I get kicked out of this cute coffee shop.

My trip has been awesome so far. In Edmonton, Fannon was a wonderful host, actually his whole family was amazing. The dwarfling was just as adorable and sweet as she is in her photos and Fannon and Mrs Fannon really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Also, did you see the pictures Fannon took of me? I had no idea I could look like that in pictures! My mind is still blown!

I also got to meet up with Corath one night, which was tons of fun. Meeting up with other WoW players always has this magical feel: no matter how little we know about each other outside the game, we always seem to connect and it feels like I’ve known the person forever.

In Calgary I met up with Vidyala and Vosskah and had a blast. We gossiped about blog and twitter people (if you’re reading this, chances are we talked about YOU!), ate some delicious food and chitchatted about the game.

I hope to write some more words on the meetups in the future, but in short, I’m so glad that I have such wonderful future neighbours!

I didn’t meet up with anyone in Winnipeg, but I still really enjoyed myself. Winnipeg was the city that most caught me with my pants down – in a good way. I had always known the city as “lolWinnipeg” and “Winter-peg”, so saying I was impressed when I arrived in the gorgeous, sunny, friendly, clean, lively city, would be an understatement.

I also promised I’d give the hostel I stayed in, HI-Winnipeg, a plug. Fantastic hostel, and the Thursday night pub crawl was loads of fun! Had great drinks with great people, and made a few friends out the event (including another Albertan!).

I’m in Milwaukee, raiding Oestrus’ couch right now. It’s been another fantastic meetup, putting a face to the voice and to the person who’s been such a huge support to me over the past few months (and who always forgives me after being a victim of my crossfires). Milwaukee was another lovely discovery as well. Whenever I’d tell people I was heading to Milwaukee (it was a 3 day bus ride so I had to tell a lot of people), I was told again and again that there’s “nothing in Milwaukee”. It’s lie! There’s so much in Milwaukee! Lots of festivals, lots of cool coffee shops, lots of great food, lots of great art. Oh, and lots of breweries. As a matter of fact, I’m hoping to get in on a brewery tour this afternoon.

Then tonight I say my goodbyes and head off to Chicago!

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

22 Comments on “Greetings from Milwaukee!”

  1. Fannon Says:

    It was great having you visit, Ophelie! You were a great portrait subject, and I’ve to photograph you again when it’s not quite so late and rushed. Consider yourself invited to camp out in our guest room any time.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Careful! I just might take you up on that! ;D We are almost neighbours now!

      Thank you again to you and Mrs Fannon for everything!

  2. Windsoar Says:

    *waves* Glad you’re enjoying your travels! (And yes, Fannon’s pictures were awesome)

  3. Theanorak Says:

    Sounds like one heck of a trip. Colour me jealous!

  4. Ellandria Says:

    I’m just relieved you weren’t kidnapped. I know it’s silly, but it just kept nagging at me in the back of my head. Perhaps I check this blog a bit too much. Question – do you and Oestrus play on the same server?

    • Oestrus Says:

      No, we do not. We know each other solely from blogging and being podcast partners.

      We had a great time, if I do say so myself. She is lovely and I was honored to meet her and I’m privileged to call her my friend. Nothing but love for that one!
      :)

    • Ophelie Says:

      You’re sweet ^_^ Kidnapping of adults is pretty rare in the US and Canada, I never get too scared when I’m travel.

      It’s hard to get back into the swing of things, especially when my mind is on my move, but I have a fair amount of free time this week so I’m going to try to easy myself back into the loop.

  5. Apple Says:

    I should’ve had you swing by Syracuse so we could grab lunch! Bah, oh well. :) If you end up coming back by upstate NY way, lemme know!

  6. Anslym Says:

    I doubt you talked about me :P and if you did I doubt there was much to say. Needless to say I’m jelous of your trip to see all these places and meet all these people! Sounds like you’ve had a blast, and I can’t wait to read about where you go or who you meet next!

    -Anslym

  7. Keredria Says:

    I wish I was home in Chicago to meet up with you! I would totally have you raid my couch, well my futon in my guest bedroom.

    Unfortunately I’m not back home until 6/24. =(

    • Ophelie Says:

      Next time then! I loved Chicago so much that I hope to come back for 7 to 10 days whenever I manage to get that many days in a row off work.

      Turns out there are a lot of bloggers in the Chicago area! I’ll plan a party next time ^_^

  8. slice Says:

    mmmm Cupcakes!

    Sounds like an awesome trip!!!!! Also belated grats on your graduating!

  9. Skip Cocoa Says:

    Oh noes, I’m being talked about! That can’t possibly end well…

    You’ve been gone sooooo looooooong! We’ve missed you! Well, not those people you saw, quite so much. But they don’t count, as we are ferociously jealous of them. Come home safe soon!

  10. SmashNHeal Says:

    Chicago! One of my favorite American cities. The metropolitan feel of NYC with the mid-west pleasantries. Hope that you enjoy it.

    Saw the pics Fannon took of you. Very nice indeed.

    Agreed, it is neat to meet the people on the other end of the internet. My wife and I met up with our guild master a few weeks ago in NYC for the first time. Might actually try to get more people to meet up next time.

    Anyway, I hope that you have good weather for the remainder of your trip. Looking forward to reading all about it.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Thanks! The weather, unfortunately, ended up being really crappy, but what can you do! At least it only snowed in Edmonton.

      I did really love Chicago. I’m SO jealous of those who get to live there all the time. Such a fun and beautiful city.

  11. saif Says:

    Sounds awesome! Hope you make it to NYC on one of your trips. :-)

    • Ophelie Says:

      Hehehe, there are so many places I want to go!

      I am quite due for a NYC trip. Just to give you an idea of how long it’s been… I have pictures of the twin towers.

  12. Jaedia Says:

    Sounds awesome! I’ve been to a guild meetup in the past, and met my other half through the game as well, so I know what you mean but it would be truly awesome to be able to meet some of the blogging/tweeting WoW people some day!

    “if you’re reading this, chances are we talked about YOU!” Well now I’m a little afraid ;)

  13. theerivs Says:

    Damn your came to my home town. How long will you be in Chicago. Would love to grab a coffee, on me of course and chat.


Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,028 other followers

