Think Pink

raidforthecure

I’ll admit that I’ve been staring at my blank text box for a good half an hour, not being able to find words that would do justice to the event that was held by Kael’Thas-US’ Sidhe Devils this afternoon for their guildmate, Julie, who was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. The first time I read the post on BBB’s blog, I had to take a moment to dry my eyes. Then I pulled out my planner and circled the date a few times.

Like all chronic illnesses, cancer is devastating. It’s devastating for the person with cancer, for their families, for their friends. On a personal level, I held the hand of a grandparent on three separate occasions as they fought for their lives against the disease. On a professional level, I’m constantly moved by the inner strength, the positive outlook and the wisdom of those I encounter who are battling cancer, either as a patient or as a supportive family member. I have nothing but admiration for all the strong individuals I have the fortune of meeting during my clinical rotations, but I must say that those dealing with cancer always leave a special impression in my heart.

Today’s in-game walk from Darnassus to Booty Bay was incredible and I’m so excited to have been a part of it. Many fellow gamers were there, sharing their stories and walking for someone (or someones) they cared about. Others just walked in silence, quietly showing their support for Julie and for everyone else who has cancer in their life. Someone commented on how amazing it was that so many people wanted to show support for a stranger. How I see it, I wasn’t there to show support as a stranger, but rather as a fellow human being. We’re all this planet together and cancer touches us all in one way or another.

I send my love and best wishes to Julie, to her family, to anyone else battling cancer and to their families.

I also want to thank BBB and the Sidhe Devils guild for putting together this event. It was a great time and I’m so happy to have been a part of it.

Aaaaand of course I have pictures! (As does pretty much every blogger playing on US servers – it was awesome to see so many familiar names!)


WoWScrnShot_111409_163547

Leaving Shadowglen with our awesome t-shirts!

WoWScrnShot_111409_164209

Waiting for the boat outside of Darnassus

WoWScrnShot_111409_164448

Off to Auberdine!

WoWScrnShot_111409_170726

On our way to Astranaar

WoWScrnShot_111409_171149

Arriving at Crossroads shortly

WoWScrnShot_111409_172715

With our hordie friends, waiting for the boat to Booty Bay

WoWScrnShot_111409_173539

Party time!

WoWScrnShot_111409_173548

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on “Think Pink”


  1. HOW ON EARTH DID I MISS YOU?!!?!?!?!

    • Ophelie Says:

      I saw you! I waved, but you were either really busy or didn’t recognize me.
      I went as Rykga since Ophelie wasn’t available and Bossypally is just wrong. I was pretty quiet the whole time, but it was great to “see” all the people I love to read.

      • elimeny Says:

        Ha, I think that just goes to show you how ADD and scatter brained I am. I was trying to read everything going on, and instead missed all of it, ha!

        • Ophelie Says:

          Ah, I’m easy to miss! I’m really shy and don’t take up a lot of room. If we ever do something like this again, I’ll be sure to say hi!

  2. quelles Says:

    I wish I could have been there, it looks like it was a lot of fun!

  3. Anea Says:

    I’m glad your screenshots turned out better than mine! I don’t think I managed to see you there, there were so many of us!


Comments are closed.


