Shared Topic: After Arthas

This week’s shared topic was suggested by Ringo Flinthammer from Flinthammer Hall. Taking on a very lore-focused approach, he invited us to speculate about what happens to us, our characters, our races, our factions, our world Azeroth after we defeat Arthas, the Lich King.

Ouch. Overwhelmed, but not one to turn down a challenge, I typed “arthas” into my google search bar. Yes, I’m coming from far. Unlike Zan and Littlebark who’ve shared links to their takes on the topic in the Blog Azeroth thread, I have no RP background. I find WoW lore interesting, but my knowledge of it is very limited. It just won’t stick with me.

I considered writing about what would happen to me as a player after Arthas dies. It came out as: “Well, I’ll do hard modes with my guild, polish up my paladin as much as possible, maybe find time to experiment with an alt or two.”

Rather anti-climactic.

So what’s up with this Arthas person? After scrying through WoWwiki, I summerized what I would need to know to think about after Arthas. Since I’m positive that I’m not the only lore n00b on the internet, here’s what I discovered.

  • There’s a bad, bad (or rather crazy and corrupted) Titan named Sargeras. He founded the Burning Legion and we really don’t like him.
  • Sargeras brought his corruption to Kil’jaeden’s planet and made him an offer he couldn’t refuse. Since then, Kil’jaeden has been Sargeras best minion. (The story is much longer and involves more players, but we don’t have to worry about them for this topic.)
  • Kil’jaeden wanted everyone to be assimilated into the Burning Legion. One of his strategies was to create an army of enslaved undead let by a single mastermind, the Lich King.
  • Ner’zhul, an orc in the Twisting Nether against whom Kil’jaeden had a vendetta, was chosen to become the Lich King. After his body was destroyed until only his soul remained, he was given the choice between an eternity of pain and leading an army of undead.
  • After Ner’zhul chose the leading an army of undead option, his soul, some armor and a sword (Frostmourne!) were imprisoned in a huge crystal: the Frozen Throne.
  • Understandably, Ner’zhul wasn’t thrilled about living in a crystal. Using his psychic powers and some help from dreadlords, he pushed Frostmourne out of the Frozen Throne and sent it to a cave where it was claimed by the impulsive and determined prince Arthas.
  • Arthas took the sword and merged his soul with Ner’zhul’s in the process.
  • The merger of both souls now live in Arthas’ body, which should die in a few weeks if all goes well.

Stolen from the Frostmourne page on WoW wiki

Which brings us to this Shared Topic. What now?

This is going to be clumsy, but I’ll do my best.

Assuming that destroying the body of the Lich King frees the merged soul of Arthas and Ner’zhul, we’ll be dealing with a lot of leaderless undead, necromancers and Vrykul. As well as very angry Azerothians and desperate families attempting to find former loved ones among the undead. Some undead, I suspect, could find solace among Sylvanas’ Forsaken. However, there are a lot of Scourge. I expect some level of anarchy as these beings run wild. Can you say tension? No one is going to want the responsibility of keeping mindless and/or power thirsty former brainslaves in line! This tension will be pushed to its limit and explode very quickly as Deathwing and the cataclysm add further confusion to the stirred up Azeroth.

Will someone replace Arthas as the Lich King?

I don’t think so. I hope not. I want Arthas’ and Ner’zhul’s soul(s) to be freed and Frostmourne and the Frozen Throne destroyed. After Kil’jaeden’s brilliant Lich King idea didn’t work out as planned (the Lich King was never supposed to acquire a body), I really doubt he’s going to try again. However, with the upcoming cataclysm and rise of Deathwing, I expect that some, if not most, of the Scourge will turn to the leader of the Black Dragonflight for guidance. With Deathwing’s threat coming at them from one end and the Burning Legion still being pests from the other end, the people of Azeroth will have plenty to keep themselves busy with.

What will my paladin think of this whole thing?

Honestly, she’s a pretty laid back, yet sentimental person. While I don’t RP, I do sense some personality coming from my characters (the “RPer within” which I might make a post about in the future). She’s deeply attached to her home of Stormwind, yet enjoys adventures and exploring. I know she’ll be excited to see Arthas defeated and the Scourge freed – she’s always felt a deep sadness for the Scourge, especially the people of the Eastern Plaguelands. I imagine that on her final way home from Icecrown Citadel, she’ll stroll through Stratholme and the Plaguelands, leaving some flowers in honour of those who are no longer able to tell their story. Over the few weeks after Arthas’ fall and the beginning of Cataclysm, I can see her taking the changes to her home in stride and doing what she can to make herself useful. She is, after all, first and foremost a paladin and no matter the extent of turmoil on Azeroth, she’s always pleased to be given the opportunity to throw some Holy Lights around.

And with that, ends the first, and most likely the last time, I dabble with lore and speculation! I look forward to being harshly corrected by the lore lovers everywhere I’ve offended with my n00b blabber.

Explore posts in the same categories: General WoW

Tags: , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

7 Comments on “Shared Topic: After Arthas”

  1. Ryan G Says:

    After running HoR, I sorta think that some other hero will come along (my money is on Medivh) and replace Arthas.

    • Ophelie Says:

      *googles Medivh* – no wait! I know Medivh! We played chess in Kara every week!

      Medivh is indeed due for a comeback sometime. But as Lich King? I hope not, but we’ll see.

      • Flippy Says:

        My money is on Bolvar Fordragon (the alliance guy that died at the Wrathgate)
        – he’s already dead anyway
        – you hear him in ICC as the Lich King tries to break him.

        Other than that, I don’t really know lore that well..

        • Ophelie Says:

          Fordragon does seem to be the preferred candidate at the moment. And we know he has *some* role to play in the near future.

          I really hope he’s not the next Lich King, though. It would be such a waste of a great character to just have him corrupted.


  2. […] Other responses from: Zan, Littlebark, and Ophelie. […]

  3. Sougent Says:

    Fordragon doesn’t necessarily need to be corrupted to be the Lich King, does he? I’m not a big lore person, but don’t know that there is any reason why the Lich King has to be evil and corrupt, that’s just the nature of the present one and even then they say that the part which is Arthas is what’s been holding the scourge back from destroying Azeroth.

    Fordragon is probably the odds on favorite, but I’ve been wondering if they might do something with the Jaina/Arthas connection. If the Lich King is killed, then Arthas body will be dead, Jaina can merge with the Lich King and Jaina can keep Arthas and Ner’zhul under control. She’s always been peacemaker.

    • Ophelie Says:

      You’re right. It never even occurred to that there could be a non-corrupted Lich King until I read Jaedia‘s take on the topic. I’d like to give the Scourge their free will back, but it would make sense to have someone sacrifice themselves to keep things peaceful.

      Working the Jaina/Arthas connection would be interesting. I wonder if there could be a way for her to keep control of the Scourge (or keep Arthas/Ner’zhul’s soul in line) while not giving up her humanity and freedom. I love seeing Jaina around Azeroth and it would be a shame to lose her.


Comments are closed.