Dearest Deyndor…

Now that the truth is out, I can post here about all the fun I had being Deyndor’s secret admirer for the weekend.

And did I EVER have fun! I did my “required” tasks by posting three comments hinting to my identity (saying I’m female is a hint, yes it is!) in his “admirer weekend” post.

But because I can never do things the way I’m supposed, I got a little crazy. Since Deyndor doesn’t allow anonymous posting, I made an email account (deyndorsfangirl@gmail.com I think it was). While I was filling in the email field, I figured I might as well fill in the website field too, so I made a Deyndor Fan Twitter.

And while I was making a Twitter, I figured I’d go all the way and made a Formspring.

I’ll admit, I was a little worried about overdoing it. He didn’t seem too creeped out, though, so I kept at it. He even played along with the formspring, asking me a question.

I noticed a couple of the bloggers who took part in the event received some “don’t you find that creepy?” comments from readers. The thing is, most of us who signed up already knew each other to a certain extent. We saw the list of participants beforehand, so we knew that whoever was leaving us anonymous comments was someone we’d spoken to before in chat, on Twitter, on each other’s blogs, on Blog Azeroth. It wasn’t at all like getting stalked by a stranger.

I’d like to give a shoutout to my wonderful admirer, the lovely Shawndra from the Escapist Scroll. If you haven’t seen the comments she left me, I encourage you to check them out! Especially the Poe poem she adapted. I ❤ my secret admirer!

Finally, I'm going to publicly thank Dristanel for coming up with this great idea. This is probably the best Valentine’s Weekend I’ve ever had. Coming up with ways to stal- err, I mean admire Deyndor was a blast and coming home to kind, anonymous messages on my own blog was a wonderful ego-flattering experience. And as you all know, I’m all about ego-flattering experiences.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

7 Comments on “Dearest Deyndor…”

  1. deyndor Says:

    Thanks for the great comments! I had a blast having you as my admirer.

    And you did a great job, I had no idea it was you until I translated the French to English and found the mention of the giant spoon. 😛

    Feel free to admire me any time you want, you were great for my ego.

  2. deyndor Says:

    And I had no idea that I didn’t allow anonymous posting. Although I’m glad it was set up that way, the twitter and formspring helped make you the best admirer, if you ask me.

  3. Ophelie Says:

    YESSS I was hoping you’d pick up on the giant spoon! I felt quite smug with myself over that.

    Actually, you might have anonymous posting enabled. Sometimes I’m blind. I’m not complaining, I had a blast coming up with creative ways to express my admiration.

  4. Jaedia Says:

    Actually I guessed you were Deyndor’s admirer from the Twitter account! :p
    You’re the only person I can think of who’d go to that much effort, the rest of us are lazy ^^

    • Ophelie Says:

      I didn’t realize I had a reputation around here!

      I must admit, I do enjoy a job well done. When I do something, I do it all the way, hehe.


  5. A formspring! You made a formspring! Wow, I had not seen it! 0:) Impressive!


Comments are closed.