Off to a Cataclysmic Start

There is a Shared Topic at Blog Azeroth about Cataclysm first impressions that I’ll leave stickied for an extra few days for those of you who want to share your first impressions about the expansion after Sunday.

I’m not going to talk about my impressions of the quests, dungeons and so on because, around this time, after WoW binging like crazy over the past few days, I don’t really care. I’ll probably care again in a few weeks so I’ll write about it then.

If I could sum up my first week of Cataclysm in three words, I’d say: disappointing and frustrating.

I’m not disappointed about the game, but rather my experience. I feel like a hamster in a wheel, running and running and not getting anywhere. I got to 85 as quickly as I could. It took me about 30 hours of played time, which is almost twice what it took the rest of my guildies. I wanted to see what a 24 hour WoW binge was like. I’ll write about it in the future, making a silly story out of it, but for now I’ll stick with the short story: it sucked, don’t do it. Curiosity got the best of me, but if I were to do it again, I’d stick with my original plan of play-sleepy-play-study-play-sleep. Combine sleep deprivation with mindless questing and the stress of 4 finals to cram for and you get pretty messy results.

And frustrating. I’m paranoid about being left behind. I’m always paranoid about being left behind in anything I do (comes from being repeatedly and traumatically left behind on school trips throughout my childhood), but when added to a situation where the chances of being left behind are pretty big, my anxiety goes through the roof.

I remember when Wrath dropped, I was pretty nervous and clinged tightly to the people I wanted to play with. I remember the delight I felt whenever we’d run an instance together and the devastation any time I’d miss a run. This is more or less the same, but with missing runs outweighing the doing them. I missed out on every single guild heroic first. I’ll have completely forgotten about it in a month, but for the time being, it’s heartbreaking.

Finding guild groups for instances is near impossible as a healer anyway- we only have two or three tanks and they’ll only run with the same two healers. I have been lucky with PuGs and I really enjoyed running Heroic Deadmines despite not knowing anyone in the group. But it’s not the same. The thrill I get from WoW comes from learning and wiping with people I know. PuGs give me gear and rep, but they give me very little fun. And I have seen very little fun so far this expansion.

Honestly, since Cataclysm dropped, I’ve rarely felt anything but stressed. Between trying to keep up with my guild and not compromising my GPA, I’ve worn myself thin. I’m not sure how else I could have done it- being present for guild firsts means a lot to me and is something I’m ready to fight for, but I’m starting to wonder at what cost. During high raiding times, I love being in an efficient guild that kills bosses. But at times like these, I miss being able to step away from the computer and not being panic stricken over what I’m going to miss.

Anyway, I do have a lot to write about pally healing and dungeon strategies, as well as some funny stories of my odd brain dead behaviour, but it’ll be a few days yet before finals and WoW lightened up enough to let me blog.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

15 Comments on “Off to a Cataclysmic Start”

  1. Matticus Says:

    Don’t stress over it so much. There’s plenty of other firsts to get.

    • Ophelie Says:

      BUT I WANT THEM ALL!

      See this is why I rarely get competitive: whenever I do, I go way overboard.

      Never underestimate the power of QQ though. The next time I logged in after writing this post, I found myself a guild group pronto.

  2. Kimberly Says:

    (sits you down, hands you a cup of tea)

    Honey, nothing, nothing, especially not a game is worth getting that wrung out over.

    I love WoW too, but it’s only pixels. Those heroic guild firsts? Pixels. You say it’s spending time with the people that makes it fun, but if those people aren’t willing to rotate you in through the guild runs…well, they’re choosing pixels.

    To be honest, I wish Blizz would take all of the firsts out of the game. I don’t understand why they encourage the super ultra hyper competitiveness that results in 20% of the player base sniping mobs and quests from the other 80% so that they can fail at making the top .001%.

    Feel better. And come back and tell me what to expect when I start healing as a pally again. 😉

    • Ophelie Says:

      Thank you 🙂

      I don’t think my guildies are intentionally leaving me out of stuff. They’re just excited about seeing the instances and forget that there are others who want in on the fun.

      The server firsts are, yeah, kind of annoying, but it’s amusing at the same time to see people going nuts, competing for them. They blow past slow little me so fast that they don’t really get in my way.

  3. Csara Says:

    I know how you feel 😦
    My real life decided to get busy (moving house, organising new car, reshuffles at work) at and around the release date.
    All my guildies are 85, and doing heroics and I’m 83. Sigh.

    Right now, I resent people who have all the free time to play.

    • Ophelie Says:

      It’s at times like this that I envy people who are able to tolerate idleness and be unemployed/work at a low intensity job. *nods*

      Good luck with your move!

  4. Kimberly Says:

    Awww…(offers you some tea). Please don’t get yourself stressed out. It seems important but in the grand scheme of things, firsts don’t mean a thing.

    Although I am kinda pissy on your behalf that your guild isn’t rotating you through guild runs.

    On a brighter note, I healed Stonecore & Throne of the Tides tonight on my pally and it wasn’t bad. A lot of moving in and out and spinning around to cast Holy Cone of Healing on the ranged – I need to get used to moving again.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Somehow Askimet nabbed your comments. Sorry about that!

      The healing seems to be challenging, but not impossible, I’ve really been having a lot of fun with it too. And it is really nice to be able to move around during fights without really compromising our healing.

  5. bleuchz Says:

    I actually think the same way you do, I raced to 85 only to find myself without a group to run with as my guild seperated into cliques. I watched from the outside looking in as herioc acheivements flashed across my screen as I was stuck in pug after pug that seemed to have no concept of the healing changes and dead set on blaming me for every wipe. However, I’ve taken ! step back, spent some time working on trade skills rep gear and running regular dungeons with some non guild friends. I rembered that I came into wotlk a month late and didn’t get left behind. It all works out. Just because we weren’t there for the ‘firsts’ doesn’t mean we are being left behind. Next time you log on, grab a cup of hot cocoa and run a 5 man for the fun of it. Hang out on vent and have a good time. Remind yourself why you like this game so much. P.S. sorry for the wall of text, but I’ve never wanted to /hug a blogger before :(.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Thank you for your comment. It wasn’t wall of texty at all! It does help to know that there are others in the same boat and that it’s not the end of the world. It’s sad to be left out of all the excitement, but you’re right that there are still plenty of useful solo stuff to do.

      And on the bright side, having done a few pugged heroics has given me a crapton of blogging material.


  6. […] Ophelie can sum up the start of Cataclysm for her in three words. […]

  7. saif Says:

    Heh, I’m in the opposite place where we just got to a point last night where we could start a guild run of heroics and stuff, but there are so few of us, we typically wind up with a PuG. Now that there are six of us, and two of us are tanks, it’s kind of a bummer to be the one PuGing while the other 5 group together but menh. That’s part of being an officer, I guess.

    I hear you, though.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Being the 6th out of 5 has got to suck! Hopefully they’ll rotate around so you can get in on the fun and others will catch up to you soon.

  8. Dahrla Says:

    Aww, I feel for you – I, too, raced to 85. I have no qualms about the 85 and group heroics, thing, though – I’m a dps, more plentiful than a healer, and I have no objections (besides the obvious) to pugging (which I have done plenty of).

    My problem comes from feeling left out of 10 mans, which seem to be constructed from the same 11-12 people (this was before Cata hit, of course – I’m in a 25 man guild). Hopefully, the feeling eventually goes away. I don’t enjoy feeling left out of things, as much as people are not intentionally leaving me (or anyone else) out. Makes the game not fun – it’s easy to say “don’t take it personally” but if it hurts, it hurts, and there’s nothing that can be done about it.

    But cheer up – being one of the first to 85 means that you can NOW take some breaths of fresh air and do some studying. Since I hit 85, I have been scaling back – I vow never to do that race again. 😛 Maybe we both have the same problem, hehe – try to go at whatever pace feels comfortable, and settle into a rhythm with a buddy.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Gah, I would be SO mad if my guild made 10 mans and left me out. I would raise so much hell. I was actually stressed sick at the thought of that happening to me. While I’m a good player, I can’t farm heroics 20 hours a day, which sets me behind most of our other raiders gear-wise. Thankfully, we skipped the 10 man phase and went straight to 25.

      I know exactly what you mean about when people say “don’t take it personally”. I got that too from my guildies “oh, it’s not big deal, you’re really not missing that much, don’t stress about it”. Riiiiight, easy for those who ARE included to say!


Comments are closed.