Shared Topic: Leave of WoW Absense

Eek! I’m doing a Shared Topic and it’s not Friday night/Saturday! What’s wrong with me? I’m never ahead of schedule like that!

So this week, Nim from Ankh = Life suggested the Shared Topic. He (I think it’s a he!) has recently recovered from a month without WoW (we are glad for his recovery and return) and, in true WoW blogger style, began reflecting on what he did with is time away from WoW, then asked what other WoW players do when they’re away from the game.

I recently wrote about how I deal (dealing badly is still dealing!) without the game, but perhaps I could talk a bit about some of the things I like to do when I’m not playing WoW. BECAUSE I DO LIKE TO DO NON WOW THINGS SOMETIMES OKAY!

1- Getting Involved at School

Yes, even when I’m not playing video games, I’m a nerd. What started off as a ploy to keep busy during my four extra years of school and maybe help with my excessive shyness (HAHAHAHA) backfired. I fell in love with my national student association and found myself dedicating increasing amounts of time to it. While I still get nauseous and shakey at the thought of making phone calls, I discovered that I really enjoy the administrative side of running a local chapter of a national association. Among other things, I’ve had the opportunity to plan a Career Fair, to travel around Canada to meet incredible, inspirational people and to be involved in the writing of an official position statement.

I never thought in a million years that I’d enjoy it this much. I have the lingering feeling that once I graduate, I’ll find myself screwing up election speeches for the grown up version of our national student association.

2- Gastronomy

I’ll admit it, I love delicious food, all sorts of delicious food. I read cookbooks before I go to sleep at night. I spend tons of money on groceries and restaurants. Upon making friends with people from other cultures, the first thing I ask them is about their ethnic food and could they share some recipes, please, please, please. When I travel, I judge cities by their restaurants. I’m not big on loud gatherings with lots of people, but food parties and potlucks are the exception.

Typically, when I tell people about my food obsession, I get the following response: “OMG! How can you love food and stay thin?

It’s actually quite simple. Good food is either:
1) Freaking expensive
2) A lot of effort to make
3) All of the above

Considering that I’m both a poor starving student and really busy all the time, calories are never an issue. I live in an area where uncommon ingredients aren’t easy to find either, which is another limit to my indulgence.

3- Traveling

Typical scene in my life:

Guildie X: Guildie Y is coming to visit me this weekend!
Me: OMG! I’m so jealous! I really want to hang out with you guys. Um…would you mind if I come too?
Guildie X: Sure, if you want.

They never believe that I’ll actually do it and get all shocked when I call them from the airport a few days later. I’m the queen of discount plane tickets and last minute plans. Yes, I have financial constraints like everyone else, but I’m pretty good at working a budget and traveling cheap.

I love youth hostels!

I also have a killer sense of direction in real life (unfortunately, this gift does not extend to video games…um…which side is Festergut’s right again?), a more or less photographic memory when it comes to maps (I find myself giving directions to locals all the time) and knack for getting myself (and others) out of trouble. I’m fearless and I get this crazy rush whenever I’m on a trip, so I have quite the extensive repertoire of freaky travel stories.

4- Reading

When I travel, I always keep a book in my purse. I don’t get the chance to read much in my regular life but, since I can’t stand pesky people cramping my style, when I’m on the go, I spend a lot of time on my own. Airports, public transit, meal times, evenings are made much more enjoyable with a trusty pocketbook on hand.

I’m absolutely crazy about Nick Hornby. I’ve even come to refer to various trips by the name of the Hornby book I was reading at the time. Also, High Fidelity is my breakup book. Whenever I’m bummed about a breakup, I pull out my (very used) copy of High Fidelity, tear through it in a few hours and automatically feel better.

A series by a different author that I enjoy as well is the Kushiel series by Jacqueline Carey. I have to admit that I wasn’t able to get into her other works (I am dying to get my hands on her Namah series, though!) but her graceful narration in Kushiel is such a treat. Even if the story wasn’t amazing (and it is amazing), the characters not likable (and they are very likable), Kushiel is worth reading for the narration alone.

5- Drinking coffee


Coffee and I have an interesting relationship. For one, I’m most likely allergic to something in most types of coffee. I’ve become good at knowing which coffees will be gentle on my lymph nodes, but I’ve spent many painful days experimenting! I’m also pretty sensitive to caffeine. I get the shakes, the sweats, the palpitations when I drink coffee.

You would think that someone with an anxious personality like me would hate that, but I don’t. I love it! It makes me feel sooo happy, like I’m excited about something. Beyond the physical boost, I love the act of drinking coffee. Coffee drinking is a very social experience and, unlike social experiences like bars or rowdy parties, it encourages conversation and (this is probably just me being weird) creates a feeling of intimacy. I’m not the most social person in the world, but I love discussion.

Furthermore, I do love to mix business and pleasure. Since I associate coffee shops and coffee drinking with happiness, friendship and thinking, I find myself doing most of my work from my favorite shop. And it helps. When I graduate, I’m considering sharing my diploma with Hava Java as this degree is definitely a team effort!

See! I do other things than play Wow!

If you now think I’m even more of a nerd that you suspected, well, you’re probably right. But it’s ok, I’m a happy nerd. I had to pick my five favorite things to do outside the game because I’m so wordy, but no worries, I don’t limit myself to 5 non WoW activities!

To see how others spend their non WoW time, be sure to check out the thread at Blog Azeroth!

Notes:
The gastronomy pictures was taken from http://www.losinj-croatia.com/island-losinj/gastronomie-gastronomy-gastronomija-gastronomia
The youth hostel picture is from my personal collection and was taken in the Hostelling International Hostel in Santa Monica, California.
The Coffee picture was taken from http://fredericpatenaude.com/

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

15 Comments on “Shared Topic: Leave of WoW Absense”

  1. Anabella Says:

    Oh my! You took the picture from Lošinj, which is an island in my home country (Croatia) 🙂 I visited Lošinj many times, its awesomelly beautiful. And food rocks! So if you want some Croatian recipes, let me know 🙂
    I actually remember countries best by the food I ate there. Waffles and very rare lamb steak made my stay in Belgium unforgettable, while poorly done chicken breasts and greasy ghoulash made me never want to go to Bulgaria again.
    Oh and I adore Carey – I just recently read the last in Kushiel series – both Phedre and Imriel are great main characters, and you got to love Melisande 🙂

    • Ophelie Says:

      Yay! I love running into other Carey fans! Melisande is indeed a wonderful villain. She’s so ruthless yet you can’t help but understand where she’s coming from. I have the last book of the series with me (Kushiel’s Mercy, I believe), but haven’t had a chance to read it yet!

      If you don’t mind sharing some Croatian recipes, I would love to try them out! I’m not familiar with Croatian cuisine at all. I actually picked that specific image because it was something I had never tried before and it looked sooooo good! (My email is bossypally at gmail dot com!)

      An ex of mine, actually, was Croatian, but was still fairly young when he moved to Hungary during the war.

      Hmm, once I graduate, I want to take a gastronomical tour of Europe… I get around North America pretty easily, but I have yet to truly experience the other side of the pond.

  2. Will Says:

    As I’ve mentioned in a previous comment, I went through an extended period of computer-less-ness last summer.

    I’ve always been a pretty voracious reader, but in my time away from WoW (and all of the other websites that I frequent), I discovered and devoured an entire eleven-book series in the span of about two and a half months.

    It was quite a good series, too, and I suppose that my absence had at least that silver lining in it. 😉

    • Ophelie Says:

      Oh let me guess…Wheel of Time?

      I find I read a lot less now that I play WoW, since the time I spend reading is now the time I spend playing. I decided to take Wednesday nights as “reading nights” but I find myself just updating the blog!

      • Will Says:

        Nope. It was the “Sword of Truth” series by Terry Goodkind.

        Here in the States there’s a nationally syndicated television show based on the books, called “Legend of the Seeker”. I discovered the show during my WoW absence as well. I liked it, saw in the credits that it was based on a book series, and decided to check it out.

        I’m glad that I did. The books are VASTLY superior to the television show, especially the current season…

        They may be a bit too allegorical for some (the sixth one especially gets a bit heavy-handed toward the end), but I found them to be very entertaining, and well worth my time.

        • Ophelie Says:

          I’ve heard of that series before, I think my dad might have it. More books to check out!

          There needs to be more hours in the day, dammit!

  3. Nim (Ankh) Says:

    It’s a he. Definately a he. Also, my computer still can’t play WoW. It’s only usable for Internets and music right now. So, I’s still a sad sad boy.

    You do…a lot more productive things than me. I can totally relate to numbers 2 and 5, and I’m completely jealous of you for number 3.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Ah yes, number 3 is one of the advantages to being a student and to not have an significant other or children to mind. When I want to go, I can just get up and head to the airport!

      From your post on Blog Azeroth, it looked like you were back. I’m sad to hear that it isn’t the case 😦

  4. Kalinia Says:

    Two amazing novels I doscovered lately:

    Sharp Teeth by Toby Barlow – A dogcatcher/lycanthrope noir romance written in open verse.

    The Gone Away World by Nick Harkaway – A post apocolyptic kung fu epic that is both tragic and comedic.

  5. Jaedia Says:

    Nick Hornby, I had read About a Boy, I own High Fidelity and shock horror.. haven’t actually read it.. BUT I’ve seen the movie and I love the story too so maybe one day I’ll get round to it.

    Coffee. My worst enemy. I don’t mind the smell, it’s warm and morningy, but I can’t stand the flavours, so bitter. I’m definitely a hot chocolate person!

    • Ophelie Says:

      Oh the book is soooo much better than the movie! I actually didn’t like the movie much, felt like it kind of ruined the story.

  6. Dristanel Says:

    I definitely envy your ability to travel so frequently! We have a guild meetup once a year, generally. I was able to make last year’s since it was… well, an hour from where I live. Finances will determine the feasibility of this year’s, though.

    • Ophelie Says:

      I wish my guild did official meetups! A lot of them go to Blizzcon, but with it rumored to be in October (smack in the middle of MIDTERMS, OMG what are they thinking?) I don’t think many of us will be going this year.


Comments are closed.