Shared Topic: Making a WoW Cooking Recipe IRL

When I saw this week’s Shared Topic over at Blog Azeroth, I knew I had to join in. A food topic? Yes please!

Kallixta from Kallixta’s Notes suggested the topic, possibly inspiring herself from Edenvale’s The Gamer’s Fridge and I scrambled to find a WoW recipe that Edenvale hadn’t already tried.

I’d been wanting to try a beer-based dish for a long time, and I felt like ribs, so I picked the recipe that had been making my stomach rumble since my very first days playing WoW:

Beer Basted Boar Ribs

Before getting started, I did a bit of research on cooking with beer and checked out several beer-based ribs recipes. From what I could understand, you can cook with beer pretty much the way you’d cook with any liquid, but that the bitterness of the beer is highlighted when heated (due to the water evaporating and the beer concentrating). To keep the dish from getting too bitter, you want to counter it with something sweet like brown sugar or honey. Beyond that, you can add whatever you want to get the flavor you’re looking for.

Here’s what I used:
– Ribs (about 3kg… it was a lot! I don’t recommend using that much.)
– Beer (I didn’t notice that the original WoW recipe called for a malt, so I used a maple stout from Cannery Brewing, a BC beer from Penticton.)
– Honey
– Soy Sauce
– Dijon Mustard
– Onion (not shown in picture)
– Garlic (not shown in picture)
– Lemon Juice
– Worshestershire sauce (most of the beer ribs recipes I checked out called for it, so I tosses some in.)
– Cayenne Pepper
– Bay Leaves

Honey and Dijon Mustard don’t mix easily with beer and I decided at the last minute to add the onion and garlic, so I mixed the ingredients (other than the beer) over low-medium heat on the stove.

I didn’t list the quantities here because it was pretty random. I used the entire beer bottle, and added everything else to taste. I tellz ya, the sauce tasted AMAZING!

While the marinating sauce was heating, I prepped the ribs. You can cut them any way you want, but I opted to go for strips of about 3 ribs.

The next step is optional, I think, but I’ve always made ribs by boiling them ahead of time. It gets rid of some of the fat and makes the actual cooking stage much shorter.

Boiling time doesn’t really matter. I take them out after a few minutes and place them on a paper towel. (If you don’t put them on a paper towel, water gets everywhere.)

Once all the ribs were boiled, I put them in various containers. I moved across the country recently and my boxes haven’t been delivered yet, so I have a total of about four dishes, so you’ll have to excuse the rustic look.

You can either pour the marinating sauce over the ribs like in the above picture, or dip the ribs in the sauce as in the picture below.

Once the ribs are all doused in marinating sauce…

…you can cover them up and put them in the fridge.

Most of the recipes I checked out recommended marinating for at least 24 hours.

Once the ribs had been sitting in beer juice for about a day and a half, I took some of them out and made sure they were neatly arranged in the tray.

I then baked them in the oven at 400 for about 20-25 minutes.

Once they were ready, I served them with some Blackheart Grog (actually the Anarchist Amber Ale from Cannery Brewing) and rice.

The recipe turned out pretty good, but I felt like something was missing. For the second batch, I sparkled some garlic salt over the meat before putting it in the oven, which seemed to do the trick. When in doubt, try garlic salt!

Explore posts in the same categories: Beyond WoW

Tags: , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on “Shared Topic: Making a WoW Cooking Recipe IRL”

  1. Edenvale Says:

    Oh damn! That looks amazing, beer soaked meat with a side of beer. Yes please!

  2. Celendus Says:

    Lavascale (spicy) minestrone would probably be really good.

    • Ophelie Says:

      That actually sounds pretty good! I’m not normally big on minestrone, but I did a spicy seafood minestrone (I think it was squid) once and it was fantastic. The squid could easily be replaced by fish. I wonder if I can find catfish around here…

  3. AliPally Says:

    I might add some beans to that plate.

    Next up: severed sagefish head!

    • Ophelie Says:

      Oooh beans are a great idea! Add some healthy while keeping all the manliness involved in beer-ribs.

      As for severed sagefish head…hmm… Normally my diet is indeed inspired from Fear Factor, but fish heads might be a tad extreme. Though I’m sure they’re a delicacy in some parts of the world. I’ll get looking on a recipe!

  4. Gladiola Says:

    that is a LOT of ribs, lol!

  5. Wyndtree Says:

    Ok, there is nothing better to see than beer and meat…inspired by WoW no less, but by gosh where is a good site to go to for more WoW food recipies? I’ve not had much luck.

  6. Risotto Says:

    I mean for this comment to be constructive so please don’t take any offense. There are a couple of basics you should incorporate into your rib recipe. NEVER boil your ribs, you basically are stripping flavor from your meat and leaving it behind in the broth/boiling water. When it comes to ribs, the Beastie Boys sum it up “Slow and Low is the Tempo. Shoot for 180F to 210F and cook for about 3;5 to 4 hours. this allows the connective tissue and fat to breakdown and leaves you with a tender end result.

    Personally if you can cook them in an indirect heat of a grill/smoker and add some wood smoke flavor, well that is just extra awesomeness. As for the recipes title, basting with beer will help do a couple of things, it’s a slight flavor enhancer but for the most part you are add moisture to the environment you are cooking in, which helps your ribs from drying out and if you are incorporating smoke helps with smoke penetration. Or you can interpret it to mean that you should be drinking while the meat cooks. 4 hours of “basting” should leave you with quite the appetite. Smoking will also leave you with a pink ring of smoke which will look more appetizing than the gray meat. Then again that’s what they make sauces for.

    Instead of marinating you could incorporate your marinading ingredients into a beer based BBQ sauce to apply at the end and you would get the same flavor profile on a more attractive end result. It would cut your prep down to removing the silver skin off the back of the ribs and salt and peppering. You want to cook the rib rack whole, Sauce should be applied 5 mins before you pull the ribs off the heat, and cut it up just before serving. Once the ribs are in the oven/on the grill you’ll have the next 3 hours to prepare the BBQ sauce.

    As for side dishes, wet naps and cold beer. The reason they always sell ribs in large quantities is because if your not making a party out of it your doing it wrong.

    • Ophelie Says:

      Thank you so much for your advice! I really appreciate it. I learned what little I know about cooking from experimenting and googling things on the internet, so any chance to exchange with someone who actually knows what they’re doing is a huge help to me.

      Your ideas sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to see what my ribs could taste like!

  7. Fleksy Says:

    Epic! As a WoW player and Homebrewer I really enjoyed this. Sean Paxton would be proud. If you don’t know about him check out http://www.homebrewchef.com

  8. Timmy Says:

    fat is flavor…yummy


Comments are closed.